It’s called a doweling jig

Stan was here today and I told you I needed a carpenter to finish my table. I was right. He started by drilling holes in the sides of the table using a doweling jig. I think it sounds like a dance but it isn’t. It’s a funky silver thing that allows a carpenter to drill the right size hole in the right place. There are three holes on each side and the leaves have little dowels glued in them so the table is held together more sturdily. Is that actually a word? Then he drilled on the legs and then he drilled the hooks that will clip on and off. So, when all is done, eight people should be able to dine comfortably. I plan on having seven people over Wednesday evening so it was important to get it finished. It looks huge!

2 thoughts on “It’s called a doweling jig

Leave a comment